WHERE.WE.ARE

“Where We Are”

TS Anthem Lyrical Content

*If needed as of yet.

Verse #1 – 0:00-0:48

With every move set in place the world’s scene dances on

And I sit all near unphased, same old electric song

Vinyl mannequins posed dancing, bleeding all that’s wrong, yeah

Some nights life is all the same, unwinding past the bar

Where our hearts meet the axis, lives burned, adorning scars

We sit on the edge and watch the city fall apart

“Bridge” #1 – 0:49-1:30

Throughout all time we ponder every scar

Begging for some dead hope

Eyes on stars

Singing a song of regret I slam shut

All the goddamned black doors

Going down, failing wings can’t hold all I know now

No loving for a dreamer, this is all I’ve got, all I hold

Chorus – 1:31-2:12

Where we are every night

Is all we need to know

In my blood, truth through love

Bleeding what needs to show

We are young, seeing the coast

The redemption

It’s the world’s edge

The bright lights, jet lag’s bad side

The resistance

That’s where we are

*Verse #2

Memories sit on the shelf from the winter’s last fall

Wallow in despair I’ve made, no peace in war at all

The preachers say it is the day to revise myself

I’ve never going to change, send me the disregard

Whispers, calamities breathe down my neck in the dark

Claw at my monsters, I plan on only seeing stars

*”Bridge” #2

We’ve died too many times for living young

Our business is unsung

And I am

Forced down onto your darkest crutch
I miss it so damn much

They need me living on through yesterday’s cold loss

My heart’s found a standard, not living a lost cause, lost cause

**CHORUS REPEAT

I do not usually take great pride in the things I write. But it was inevitable that I would come to love this as soon as the first few lines came out. This is my take on what Bentley Jones calls the “TS Anthem”. I do not feel that the lyrics are too complex for a rock-electro-banger song, but it was quite difficult getting the right words out. I could not get too metaphorical with this song, but I was fine with that. Simplicity is something I rarely go for and it was nice to give my mind a break instead of searching for what an inanimate object could be representative of.

Since the demo only gave a first part or so of the song, I focused primarily on what content we have been given. I made an assumption that the next verse and hook/bridge would follow the same pattern and I took it upon myself to continue on. For now I will stop here. Knowing typical song structure, the third verse usually differs from the first two in both structure and syllable count. Hopefully this is what people were expecting lyric-wise.

I was taken aback by the word “anthem”, though. I considered writing something humorous along the lines of inside jokes, references to the artist’s music and videos, and an overall humorous feel. However, upon hearing the demo, I realized what I could do with this. The chorus popped into my head the second I heard it, and “Where We Are” became the “working title” of sorts for myself. I’m still making EXTREMELY minor edits to the lyrics, such as fixing things that don’t sound correct when I sing them aloud. But the song will remain practically the same.

My rambling seems to be getting a bit lengthy. Have a good day, fellow readers.

Leave a comment